Ashtanga Yoga 

Ashtanga Yoga 

The eight forms of yoga practice are: Yama, Niyama, Asana, Pranayama, Pratyahara, Dharana, Dhyana and Samadhi.

Related Articles


Yama includes non-violence, truth, non-stealing, brahmacharya, and non-possessiveness.

Non-violence is the practice of not causing any kind of misery to any living being by mind, word, deed, which includes envy, hatred, and abandonment of evil words, etc. Whosoever becomes non-violent, all the creatures of the world, even the violent animals, fall in love with him.

By following the truth through mind, word, and deed and speaking the truth in every situation, speech becomes perfect.

Not trying to get anything on your own is called “Asteya”. Asteya includes bribery, theft, cheating, telling foreign things as one’s own, weighing less, etc.

mind. Abstaining from all kinds of sexual intercourse by word and deed is called “brahmacharya”. Incomparable physical strength is attained by the observance of brahmacharya.

Not accumulating any kind of wealth and avoiding it is called “aparigraha”. Through aparigraha, knowledge of birth after birth is attained. Aparigraha includes an attachment, affection, selfishness, etc.


The rules include defecation, contentment, austerity, self-study, and Ishvara pradhan.

All kinds of external and internal purity are called such. External cleanliness includes bathing, wearing clean clothes, brushing teeth, etc., due to which the body remains clean and happy. Envy, anger, hatred, attachment, greed, item, etc. come in internal cleanliness. Cleanliness of mind, concentration, purification of mind, Jitendriya, and the ability of self-realization has been considered as internal defecation. By making the human body healthy, the mind pure, and thoughts pure, helps in getting the benefit of God’s proximity.

To be happy in every situation is called contentment. Not being dissatisfied due to any reason like happiness-sadness, loss-benefit, etc., and winning over desires is the main sign of contentment.

Tolerance of suffering is penance. Tolerating cold-heat, honor-humiliation, hunger-thirst, etc. with equal spirit, contemplating on God is called austerity. By penance, all the senses are developed exceptionally and all kinds of siddhis become accessible.

The study of Vedas, Vedanta, virtues and the nourishing and demerits of spirituality and the study of Vedas, Puranas, Shastras, etc. is called Swadhyaya. Self-study leads to the realization of the deity.

Experiencing God in one’s own body in every detail and by being engaged in the contemplation of God at all times and dedicating all one’s actions and results to God is called Ishvara Pradhan. Through God Pranidhan, one gets closeness to God.


Asanas are those exercises in which different parts of the body are changed into different shapes. Asanas keep the body healthy and healthy as well as keep thoughts and feelings pure.


The desire to inhale and exhale is called “Pranayama”. In Pranayama, by the cessation of Pranavayu, the restlessness of the mind is removed and it attains stability.


Those actions by which the outward-facing senses are made introverted by detaching themselves from their subject are called “Pratyahara”. Removing the tongue from the juice, the eyes from the form, the skin from the touch, and the nose from the smell is pratyahara.

An assumption

To remove the restlessness of the mind, the action of keeping it fixed in a particular part of the body or at a point in the external region or concentration of the mind is called Dharana. Through Dharana, the mind becomes concentrated in one place and does not wander here and there. The mature stage of Dharana is called Dhyana.


There are two types of meditation: gross and subtle.

Worshiping God through a picture or an idol is called “Gross Meditation”. Contemplating on God in the soul of a self-conscious, radiant soul is called “subtle meditation”.


This is the final stage of yoga. When only God is visible, everything else seems to be zero, then that state is called “samadhi”. Samadhi is that state in which the seeker does not even care about his own existence. Samadhi is the culmination of all yogic actions. Concentration is attained by purification of the mind and concentration attains the benefits of being close to God by attaining samadhi.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
Would you like to receive notifications on latest updates? No Yes

AdBlock Detected

Please Consider Supporting Us By Disabling Your AD Blocker