Type of Yoga

Type of Yoga

Yoga has two meanings: samadhi and union. According to Yoga-Bhashya, yoga is called Samadhi, which is the universal religion of the mind. In other words, the control of the mind, that is, the concentration of the mind is called yoga. According to Mahatma Yajnavalkya, yoga is the union of the soul and the Supreme Soul. According to Swami Sivananda Saraswati, yoga is the practice by which the concentration of the soul and the divine is experienced and the soul is united with the Supreme Soul. According to Ayurveda, Yoga is a combination of medicines. Thus it is clear that the medium through which the relation between the soul and the Supreme Soul can be established is called Yoga.

Related Articles

Many means have been considered to connect the soul with the Supreme Soul, due to which many types of yoga are considered. For example, Jnana Yoga, Karma Yoga, Japa Yoga, Raja Yoga, Sankirtana Yoga, Hatha Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Buddhi Yoga, Dhyana Yoga, Mantra Yoga, Anashakti Yoga, Shiva Yoga, Kundalini or Laya Yoga, etc. Out of the above, Karma Yoga, Jnana Yoga, Bhakti Yoga, Kundalini Yoga, Raja Yoga, and Hatha Yoga are prominent.

Karma yoga

According to Shrimad Bhagwat Geeta, doing work efficiently is Karma Yoga. According to the theory of Karma Yoga, through the practice of Karma Yoga, man continues to perform worldly deeds without any attachment to illusion and eventually gets absorbed in God.

Gyan Yoga

Gyan Yoga is such a yoga through which the darkness of the human mind can be removed. To attain Gyan Yoga, it is necessary to attain the pure form of God while contemplating with concentration, otherwise, this yoga cannot be attained. This is the most difficult yoga.

Bhakti Yoga

A human being is a social animal who lives in an organized society and considering someone or the other as his God, he meditates, worships him which is called Bhakti Yoga.

Kundalini yoga

Kundalini Yoga is also called Laya Yoga. The activities of awakening the dormant Kundalini through Shatachakra piercing and establishing oneness with the divine presence in the thousand loti is called Kundalini Yoga or Laya Yoga. Kundalini yoga is the climax of hatha yoga.

Raja Yoga

Controlling the actions of the mind through the use of intellect and attaining the state of cessation of mind through thoughts is called Raja Yoga. This is the final stage of yoga which is also called Samadhi. According to Maharishi Patanjali, there are eight parts of Raja Yoga: Yama, Niyama, Pranayama, Asana, Dharana, Pratyahara, Dhyana and Samadhi.

Hatha yoga

There are six chakras in the human body. All those activities through which a person attains the nearness of God through the cessation of the chittvritti by penetrating the six chakras located in his body, come under hatha yoga. Hatha Yoga is considered to be the oldest form of yoga, taking shelter of which the sages used to be absorbed in penance for thousands of years. It is Hatha yoga that balance is established between the two nadis of the human body, Ida and Pingala.

Related Articles

Leave a Reply

Your email address will not be published.

Back to top button
Would you like to receive notifications on latest updates? No Yes

AdBlock Detected

Please Consider Supporting Us By Disabling Your AD Blocker